book list · goodreads choice awards challenge

BOOK LIST | The Goodreads Choice Awards Challenge

Every single year after the Goodreads Choice Awards nominees come out, I tell myself I’m going to diversify my TBR pile and start reading books I usually wouldn’t. Then, suddenly, the new nominees come out, and I still haven’t done what I said I was going to do seven years ago.
There isn’t really any reason why I wouldn’t normally read them, other than the fact that I’m stuck in a new-adult romance rut and I can’t get out. Netgalley has definitely been helping me read different types of books but now all I want to read is memoirs/biographies so I’m stuck in that rut too.

I am taking it upon myself to make a list of the winners in the majority of genres from the first year of the awards up until last year, and read them. Sounds easy enough, right?
I’m going to be reviewing them and seeing if I agree with them winning the title.
This will make me a) read more books (I’m slacking), b) test out new genres and authors, c) make my blog more active because I’ll want to publish me being a villain if I absolutely hate one of the winners!

If anyone else wants to join in with me, I’d definitely be into organizing a Goodreads group with a new book bi-weekly (or whatever works for everyone) so we can chat and be in on it together! If that’s too much of a commitment, I’d still love to hear if you’re going to try something similar to this!



2009:
Fiction – The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Nonfiction – Columbine by Dave Cullen

2010:
Fiction – The Room by Emma Donoghue

2011:
Historial Fiction – The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
Paranormal Fantasy – Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning
Humour – Bossypants by Tina Fey
Memoir & Autobiography – Two Kisses for Maddy: A Memoir of Loss and Love by Matthew Logelin

2012:
Mystery & Thriller – Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Historical Fiction – The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman
Memoir & Autobiography – Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed
Nonfiction – Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

2013:
Fiction – And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
Memoir & Autobiography – I Am Malala: The Story of the Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai

2014:
Historical Fiction – All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Humour – Yes Please by Amy Poehler
Nonfiction – The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan
Business – #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

2015:
Mystery & Thriller – The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
Historical Fiction – The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
Fantasy – Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman
Humour – Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling


Okay, not going to lie – this list isn’t as exciting as I thought it was going to be. Most of the books are ones I’ve been wanting to read anyways but haven’t gotten around to. The ones I didn’t list either sound suuuuuper boring, are not the first in a series, or I’ve already read them. I also didn’t list YA or Rick Riordan because it’s a no-brainer that I’ve read or am going to read those.
I think once this year’s nominees are in the semi-final round, I’ll make a list of all the competing books. Pretty sure that’ll actually be a challenge and probably less enjoyable.

Anyways, this is my personal Goodreads Choice Awards Challenge for 2009-2015!
I’d love to hear what your thoughts are or if you think any of the other nominees in the past should have won!
Have you done anything similar?  What books are you voting for this year?

One thought on “BOOK LIST | The Goodreads Choice Awards Challenge

Leave a Reply

