book list · goodreads choice awards challenge

BOOK LIST | The Goodreads Choice Awards Challenge (Part 2)

In my original Goodreads Choice Awards Challenge I realized that the challenge I set for myself wasn’t actually much of one at all. I had either been meaning to read all of the books already or I had already finished them. The whole point of this was to try and make myself read books out of my “comfort zone”. I really want to broaden my reading horizons so I decided, because the final round of the Goodreads Choice Awards is now out, I’d challenge myself to read every single one of them (of course with a lot of exceptions because I’m picky)! I’m not giving myself a deadline because each genre has a lot more books than I expected. I purposefully waited for the final round because I thought there would only be six but nope. As long as I’ve read all of them before the nominees for next year are out, I’ll consider myself a winner! However, we’ll see how productive I actually am with reading anything because I just discovered Grey’s Anatomy and now all my free time has been spent marathoning it instead…


Fiction:
– Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley
– Commonwealth by Ann Patchett
– Truly, Madly, Guilty by Liane Moriarty
– Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld
– What is Yours is Not Yours by Helen Oyeyemi
– Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult
– My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout
– All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood
– The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney
– The Girls by Emma Cline

Mystery & Thriller:
– The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena
– Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris
– All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda
– Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

Historical Fiction:
– America’s First Daughter by Stephanie Dray
– The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
– The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee
– Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
– The Wonder by Emma Donoghue
– Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly
– The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson
– The Swans of Fifth Avenue by Melanie Benjamin
– A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

Fantasy:
– All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
– The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon

Science Fiction:
– A Murder in Time by Julie McElwain
– Dark Matter by Blake Crouch
– Underground Airlines by Ben H. Winters

Poetry:
– Today Means Amen by Sierra DeMulder
– The Universe of Us by Lang Leav
– The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace
– Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook
– Quarter Life Poetry: Poems for the Young, Broke and Hangry by Samantha Jayne
– Graffiti by Savannah Brown
– Beautiful and Damned by Robert M. Drake
– Then Come Back: The Lost Neruda Poems by Pablo Neruda


I tried to make the list without reading any descriptions but as you can see from the three genres that are significantly shorter than the rest, I slipped up. I also didn’t include books that aren’t the first in a series. Nonetheless, I’d say that this list is a really good start for me to branch out a bit more, so I’m excited!

If anyone wants to join in with me, I’d love to organize a Goodreads group so we can chat and be in on it together!

If you’ve already voted, which books do you want to win?

Annnd, if you’re a book lover and you’re still reading, how do you discover new books and genres?

Leave a Reply

