review

BOOK REVIEW | Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

16295229_10154504423412955_100303562_n

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

blurb from Goodreads

I have nothing negative to say about this collection. In fact, I’m at a loss for words in general.

I’ve been meaning to read this book for a couple of months but I always avoided buying it (and everything else) in Chapters because I’ve been trying to save money. I was at the mall yesterday and made the decision to buy a book (which turned into two, no surprise) to motivate myself to pack. I finally crawled into bed at 2am and couldn’t sleep. Like always, I told myself I’d only read a couple of pages before laying down and trying to sleep again. Before I knew it, I was crying, my heart was aching, and I had just finished ‘the breaking’ chapter. It’s absolutely amazing that I found myself reading the thoughts and feelings I’ve been swarmed with for two years written so eloquently when I had never been able to speak them or describe them.

Everyone goes through different things in their life. It’s very rare that two people experience the same situations. Nonetheless, Kaur has bled onto the pages of her book but done so in a way that the reader can relate to her experiences (except of course the pieces about racism because I’m white and will never, ever have to go through that). It was like I was reading my own ‘love’ story, heartbreak and all. While I wouldn’t wish it on anyone, it was so, so refreshing to feel understood and gain some hope and resilience from Kaur’s words.

It’s really, really hard to review a book that you love unconditionally. I can’t really explain why it’s so important to me without getting super personal but also because words are really difficult when emotional. As well, I would feel really terrible if people went out and bought this book because of how I’m raving and then didn’t enjoy it (but not too terrible because you’d be supporting an amazing writer). To sum everything up, milk and honey is like my own personal diary that I didn’t write.

milk and honey has a home on my bedside table. I’m not sticking this book onto a shelf because I know I’m going to read it whenever I can’t sleep. I’ve already had two people want to borrow it and I know I’m going to have separation anxiety. I’m going to read it whenever I need to remind myself of the heartache, whenever I need to know it’s okay to ‘love’ again,  and whenever I need to feel okay and hop on the healing train.

 

Leave a Reply

