review

BOOK REVIEW | *DNF* | My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen by David Clawson

Chris Bellows is just trying to get through high school and survive being the only stepchild in the social-climbing Fontaine family, whose recently diminished fortune hasn’t dimmed their desire to mingle with Upper East Side society. Chris sometimes feels more like a maid than part of the family. But when Chris’s stepsister Kimberly begins dating golden boy J. J. Kennerly, heir to a political dynasty, everything changes. Because Chris and J. J. fall in love . . . with each other.

With the help of a new friend, Coco Chanel Jones, Chris learns to be comfortable in his own skin, let himself fall in love and be loved, and discovers that maybe he was wrong about his step-family all along. All it takes is one fairy godmother dressed as Diana Ross to change the course of his life.

My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen is a Cinderella retelling for the modern reader. The novel expertly balances issues like sexuality, family and financial troubles, and self-discovery with more lighthearted moments like how one rogue shoe can launch a secret, whirlwind romance and a chance meeting with a drag queen can spark magic and light in a once dark reality.

blurb from Goodreads

I received an advanced copy of this book courtesy of Netgalley!

I ended up reading 60 out of 194 pages before I decided to call it quits. I’m bored and too frustrated to continue. Life is too short to force yourself to read books that you’re not enjoying.

Before we get started, I’d like to remind everyone that I am a cis white woman and that anything I say regarding gender and racism is by no means an expert opinion. I will never face the hate or the injustice that people who are not cis and people who are not white will face. Just because I think something is offensive does not mean that anyone who matters does, so this is tricky territory. I would love to open a discussion if you agree/disagree with me and I’m always, always, looking for people to correct and educate me!

My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen is full of problems. From assuming that someone was from Harlem due to the colour of their skin to the oversexualization of the drag queens, I honestly could not believe what I was reading. There were transphobic “jokes” and internal dialogue that made me sick. There was an entire paragraph about what it’s like to be gay that was ALL stereotypes and not inspirational in the slightest. I feel that if authors are going to write about gay characters and include topics that aren’t normally discussed, that they have an obligation and a responsibility to do it properly. How hard is it to do some research and talk to people who actually live these lives? As well, I think it’s pretty common knowledge to use “they” pronouns if you’re unaware of someone’s preferred ones. ALSO, sex and gender are not the same thing! Sex is biological while gender is what an individual decides/feels for themselves. Education, especially when it comes to topics like these, is so so so SO important.

The writing was really hard to get through. There were too many explanations instead of descriptions. The main character was also incredibly unlikable. He was so damn whiny yet every single one of his problems had solutions. He put himself in the position he was in. I understand that the author was trying to make this a fun and light-hearted read but I found everything to be annoying.

Maybe this book has a major turn around point and things change. I really, really hope that’s the case. Nonetheless, it made enough of an impact on me to not have the desire to finish it, so I guess I’ll never know.

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | *DNF* | My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen by David Clawson

  1. I like the issues you have raised here – there are many books being releases as ‘gay titles’ that have done little to step outside stereotypes, tropes and the intricacies of growing up a minority simply because those topics are on trend. As always writers need to have some sensitivity towards visibility, education and fact. A lot of personal pain can be tied up n these for some readers, and youth also get awareness and knowledge from this type of format… I love that this type of genre is becoming prevalent in our book stores, but it also comes with a percentage of not-so-well written tomes.
    Critical readers/reviewers like you help shape the landscape for the future publishing landscape. Stick to your beliefs.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts – many in my family identify with one or more minority and its heartwarming to see opinions like yours surface in book reviews.
    Keep up the good work 🙂
    And on a side note (and much lighter one) : I’d love my own personal drag queen fairy god mother!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

