book list

BOOK LIST | May Wrap Up



A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab
3 out of 5 stars

I had realllly high expectations from all the hype surrounding this book. I’m not sure if I just didn’t enjoy it or if it was because I’m not used to reading such pure fantasy. I did enjoy the characters but I’m not sure if that’s enough to finish the series.



A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas
4 out of 5 stars

I didn’t realize that this was the last book of the “immediate” series and I wish I had that knowledge beforehand because it definitely would have made me enjoy what was happening more.



The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass 0.1 – 0.5) by Sarah J. Maas
4 out of 5 stars

I really wish that I had read the novellas before reading the TOG series just because I found myself feeling a lot more sympathetic towards Celaena, and I think I would have enjoyed the first couple of books more.



See How They Run (Embassy Row #2) by Ally Carter
4 out of 5 stars

This ended on a cliffhanger and I don’t have book 3 so I’m a LITTLE annoyed. However, I absolutely love this story and the characters.



See How They Run (Embassy Row #2) by Ally Carter
4 out of 5 stars

A lot happened but it still felt pretty slow to me. I am SO pleased by the amount of representation Clare has brought in. While the ending was torturous, it was perfect and I cannot wait for book 3.



The Iron Trial (Magisterium #1) by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
3.5 out of 5 stars

A really cute middle-grade fantasy read. Not as epic as Percy Jackson or Harry Potter, but I enjoyed it a lot and I’m going to continue with the series!



Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy
4 out of 5 stars

You can read my review over here!



The Copper Gauntlet (Magisterium #2) by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
3 out of 5 stars



Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling
3 out of 5 stars

I listened to the audiobook. Definitely enjoyed it and found myself laughing out loud but I liked her first memoir more.



Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
4 out of 5 stars

You can watch my review over on my Youtube channel!



Captain Marvel Vol 1: In Pursuit of Flight by Kelly Sue DeConnick
2 out of 5 stars

Wasn’t into the story or the characters.



Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson
3.5 out of 5 stars

Loved the representation!



Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
5 out of 5 stars

Completely different than what I thought it was going to be but in such a good way.



Lumberjanes Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters, & Brooke A. Allen
3.5 out of 5 stars



The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
3.5 out of 5 stars

I ended up enjoying this a heck of a lot more than I thought I was going to. Everything was really developed and it was a really great standalone. I was a little bit iffy on the romance, just because it seemed like insta-love, but besides that, I had no faults with it!


I read a total of 15 books in May putting my reading challenge at 42 out of 75!


What did you read this month?

Leave a Reply

