book list

BOOK LIST | June Wrap Up



Six of Crows (#1) by Leigh Bardugo
3 out of 5 stars

This book took me such a long time to read. The beginning was really dull and I only pushed through because I was told it would get better. And it did, but it still wasn’t as great as I had anticipated. I think 3 stars is a bit generous but I ended up liking the characters a lot. I’m going to read the sequel because I’m curious but my expectations aren’t very high.



Saga Vol. 6 by Brian K. Vaughan
3 out of 5 stars



Caraval by Stephanie Garber
3.5 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this! The family dynamic was beautiful and I really loved the writing.



The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen
3 out of 5 stars

I have no idea what happened but I’m intrigued.



Lumberjanes, Vol. 2: Friendship to the Max by Noelle Stevenson
3 out of 5 stars

This series is so cute and fun!



Geekerella by Ashley Poston
4 out of 5 stars

Listened to the audiobook. I didn’t like either of the narrators and I feel like they took away from the story but I still loved it a lot nonetheless!!



Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
4 out of 5 stars

This one seemed a lot more fleshed out and stronger compared to the first!


                  

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why | Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3: Crushed
by G. Willow Wilson

4 out of 5 stars    |    3 out of 5 stars



Batgirl, Vol.1: The Darkest Reflection by Gail Simone
2 out of 5 stars

The transitions weren’t fluid and I found myself more confused than entertained.



Ultimate Comics – Spider-Man: Vol 1 by Brian Michael Bendis
5 out of 5 stars

I looooved Bendis’ Peter Parker but I absolutely adore Miles Morales.



The Bronze Key (Magisterium #3) by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare
3.5 out of 5 stars

Closer to a 4 star just because OF THE CLIFF HANGER ENDING WHAT THE HELL


                     

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 4: Last Days | Ms. Marvel, Vol. 5: Super Famous | Ms. Marvel, Vol. 6: Civil War II
by G. Willow Wilson

3 out of 5 stars    |    4 out of 5 stars    |    3 out of 5 stars



Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
5 out of 5 stars

This is exactly what I needed to read and I did it all in one sitting! So cute and sweet and I feel so refreshed!



I Was Here by Gayle Forman
3.5 out of 5 stars



The Siren by Kiera Cass
3.5 out of 5 stars



Where Am I Now? by Mara Wilson
3 out of 5 stars
Mara has a beautiful way with words and really takes you on a journey through her childhood. I found the point of some of her essays got lost in the story telling and strayed away from packing the punch they could have delivered.



When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
5 out of 5 stars
You can read my review here!



Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen
3.5 out of 5 stars
I’m not usually one for character driven novels but there’s something about the way that Sarah Dessen does it that I love. There’s so many little pieces she’s able to weave together, and somehow she makes you feel for every character. While Saint Anything isn’t her best work, I still enjoyed it nonetheless and look forward to reading her other new releases.

I read a total of 21 books in June putting my reading challenge at 63 out of 75!


What did you read this month?

Leave a Reply

