book list

BOOK LIST | July Wrap Up



Lumberjanes, Vol 3: A Terrible Plan by Noelle Stevenson, Shannon Watters, Carolyn Nowak
3 out of 5 stars


                     

Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man Vol. 2 | Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man Vol. 3 | Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man Vol. 4
by Brian Michael Bendis

4 out of 5 stars    |    4.5 out of 5 stars    |    3.5 out of 5 stars



A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
3.5 out of 5 stars
I really enjoyed this but I didn’t get the punch-in-the-gut feeling that I was expecting.



Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts
3.5 out of 5 stars
I was pretty worried that this was going to shatter my heart. Luckily, it didn’t and I enjoyed reading it. It was very cute while also dealing with difficult topics a lot of able-bodied and healthy people don’t even think of.



The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
4 out of 5 stars
Re-reading the series!



Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
3.5 out of 5 stars
I was expecting a lot due to the hype and it didn’t quite live up to it.



The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
3.5 out of 5 stars
I really, really enjoyed this book. I had to rate it down a bit due to some insta-love (even though I genuinely loved it) and the cliff-hanger.



Once and For All by Sarah Dessen
3 out of 5 stars



The Rose & the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh
3 out of 5 stars



Lumberjanes, Vol. 4: Out of Time by Noelle Stevenson, Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis
4 out of 5 stars



Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
3 out of 5 stars
I listened to the audiobook and the narrator had such a beautifully enchanting voice EXCEPT when it came to female characters. Those were pretty cringeworthy.
The story was flowery and magical and completely bizarre. I couldn’t get into the book when I tried reading the physical copy, so the audiobook was the perfect way to go.
I did enjoy it a lot but it felt waaay too long and unnecessary. I’m definitely anticipating the sequel though!



Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
4.5 out of 5 stars
Exactly what I needed to get out of the mild book slump I was in!



Take the Key and Lock Her Up (Embassy Row #3) by Ally Carter
4 out of 5 stars



Sex Object by Jessica Valenti
2.5 out of 5 stars
I loved how honest and vunerable Valenti was. However, a lot of the stories didn’t flow together very well and strayed from the point she was trying to make.



The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
3.5 out of 5 stars
I enjoyed this one a lot but I can’t help but feel like there was something missing.


 

I read a total of 17 books in July putting my reading challenge at 80 out of 75 100!

What did you read this month?

2 thoughts on “BOOK LIST | July Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

